Homelands (Bantustans)

Click the image for a larger view. Depending on your browser setup, multiple clicks may be required to view the full-sized image.
The South African government designated all Africans as citizens of a homeland or Bantustan. By 1984, Ciskei, Bophuthatswana, Transkei, and Venda had been granted "independence," which was recognized by no other nations except South Africa.

By MATRIX, Michigan State University


AODL African Studies Center MSU NEH Matrix